r18a – Mc26 # 1913 Collins/Allen One Pound Banknotes

r18a 1913 Collins/Allen One Pound Banknotes

Obverse Coat of Arms
Reverse Mining Underground
Signatories James R. Collins, Assistant Secretary
George T. Allen, Secretary to the Treasury
Size 182.88mm [width] 93.98mm [height]
Composition Paper
Watermark None
Serial Numbers Red Serial numbers – P 000001 to P 1000000

Notes : First issued in September, 1913, the new Commonwealth of Australia one pound notes featured a gold mining scene at the Victorian Quartz Mine, Bendigo, Victoria on the back. The miners were W. Healey, F. Smith and J. Beveridge.

Approximately 89,000,000 one pound notes were produced between 1913 and 1923 with basically the same design but with several variations to the colour and prefix/suffix of the serial numbers on the notes.

A very rare note with less than 20 known to exist today.

Valuation : r18a – Mc26 # Collins/Allen One Pound Banknotes

Auction Prices