r75 – Mc105 # 1974 Phillips/Wheeler One Dollar Banknotes

r75 1974 Phillips/Wheeler

Obverse Elizabeth II & Coat of Arms
Reverse Aboriginal Art Theme by David Malangi
Signatories J. G. Phillips, Governor, Reserve Bank of Australia
F. H. Wheeler, Secretary to the Treasury
Size 139.70mm [width], 69.85mm [height]
Composition Paper
Watermark Captain Cook in left panel
Serial NumbersPrefix BLG 770001 to BYB 999999

Notes : The "Commonwealth of Australia" logo was replaced by "Australia". According to Michael Vort-Ronald's publication Australian Decimal Banknotes : Paper Issues [Second edition, 2000, ISBN 0958758093] the change took place following a directive of then Prime Minister, Gough Whitlam, that where possible, references to the 'Commonwealth of Australia' should be changed to 'Australia' in official descriptions generally. Mr Whitlam believed that the term 'Commonwealth' no longer carried the same sort of relevance in the 1970s, in particular because of its associations with "British Commonwealth" and "Commonwealth of Nations". The Government reviewed the wording in 1977 but decided not to direct the Reserve Bank to change it due to the cost involved and other factors, such as consistency in the use of 'Australia' on both banknotes and coins.

Valuation : r75 – Mc105 # Phillips/Wheeler One Dollar Banknotes

2003 4 1020 3050
2008 7 1530 5075
Auction Prices
2012   5[6] 1319
2013    [19] 46
2014  3 [10] 33
First serial prefix BLG # r75F – Mc105a
First serial prefix BLG r75F 1974 Phillips/Wheeler One Dollar Banknotes
2008 50 95150 225350
Auction Prices
Last serial prefix BYB # r75L – Mc105b
Last prefix BYB r75 1974 Phillips/Wheeler One Dollar Banknotes
2008 30 6595 150200
Auction Prices